À NOTRE SUJET

From January 29-February 4, Wood Buffalo will welcome approximately 2,100 athletes, coaches, mission staff and officials from nine contingents for the 2023 Arctic Winter Games (AWG).

L’AWG est une compétition sportive de haut niveau pour les athlètes de toutes les régions Nordiques circumpolaires du monde. Les premiers Jeux ont eu lieu à Yellowknife en 1970, accueillants près de 500 participants en provenance du Yukon, des T.N-O. et de l’Alaska. Maintenant, les participants viennent de l’Alaska, du Nord de l’Alberta, du Yukon, du Nunavut, du Nunavik, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de la Russie, du Groenland, de la Finlande et de la Norvège. 

View 2020 Annual Report

Mission

En hommage au cœur et à l’esprit des Jeux, la région de Wood Buffalo enrichira des vies en faisant la promotion de l’excellence personnelle, de la diversité culturelle et en créant un héritage pour les athlètes, les participants, les bénévoles de la région de Wood Buffalo.  

VISION

En partageant l’énergie de notre grande collectivité nordique, nous créeront une expérience sportive, culturelle et sociale mémorable tout en favorisant un sentiment d’accomplissement pour les participants locaux et les visiteurs.  

VALUES

L’accès et l’équité, la diversité culturelle, la sensibilisation à l’inclusion, l’esprit sportif, l’histoire, l’honnêteté, l’héritage, l’excellence personnelle, le respect pour soi-même et pour les autres.  

Scroll to Top

About Us

From March 6-12 Wood Buffalo will welcome approximately 2,100 athletes, coaches, mission staff, and officials from nine contingents for the 2022 Arctic Winter Games (AWG).

The AWG are a high-profile Circumpolar sport competition for northern and Arctic athletes. The first Games were held in Yellowknife in 1970, with 500 participants from Yukon, NWT and Alaska. Participants now come from Alaska, Northern Alberta, Yukon, Nunavut, Nunavik, Northwest Territories, Russia, Greenland, Finland and Norway. 

Mission

Honouring the heart and spirit of the Games, Wood Buffalo will enrich lives by promoting personal excellence, cultural diversity and creating a legacy for athletes, participants, volunteers and the Wood Buffalo region.  

VISION

In sharing the energy of our great northern community, we will create a memorable athletic, cultural and social experience while fostering a sense of accomplishment for local and visiting participants.  

VALUES

Access and Equity, Cultural Diversity, Inclusion and Awareness, Fair play, History, Honesty, Legacy, Personal Excellence, Respect for Self and Others.  

Scroll to Top