Équipes

The Wood Buffalo 2023 Arctic Winter Games includes athletes from the Northwest Territories, Yukon, Nunavut, Alaska, Greenland, Russia (Yamal), Nunavik (Northern Quebec), northern Alberta and the Indigenous people (Sami) of Norway, Sweden and Finland.

Alaska Flag

Créée en 1968 en tant qu’organisation à but non lucratif, l’équipe des Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en Alaska (EJHAA) cultive et célèbre les sports, les échanges sociaux et la culture. L’équipe Alaska renforce les communautés de l’Alaska en offrant aux jeunes athlètes la chance de participer à des compétitions amicales tout en partageant des valeurs culturelles de régions nordiques à travers le monde.

L’Alaska accueillera les Jeux d’hiver de l'Arctique en 2024.

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le bleu et l’or.

Site web de l’équipe 

 

Le Nord de l’Alberta a joint les Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en 1986 et a accueillis pour la première fois les Jeux en 1994 à Slave Lake.

Quatrième plus grande province du Canada, l’Alberta est la plus méridionale des participants aux Jeux. La participation est limitée aux régions situées au nord de la 55e parallèle.

Les couleurs de leur équipe du nord de l'Alberta sont le bleu royal et le blanc. Lien vers la page de l’équipe: https://albertasport.ca/team-alberta/arctic-winter-games/

Le Groenland participe aux Jeux d’hiver de l'Arctique depuis 1990. En 2002, le Groenland a accueilli les Jeux pour la première fois à Nuuk, et accueillis les derniers Jeux en 2016. Le Groenland est le plus septentrionale des juridictions impliquées dans les Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique. 

Considéré comme faisant parti de l'Amérique du Nord, le Groenland est la plus grande île du monde. Deux tiers de l'île sont situées au-dessus du Cercle polaire et environ 85 pourcent de sa masse est couverte de glace.  

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le rouge et le blanc. 

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.-O) ont été la première équipe à organiser les Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique 1970 à Yellowknife et la dernière à accueillir en 2018. 

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont le deuxième plus grand des trois territoires du Canada. Le territoire s’étend du 60e parallèle au Pôle Nord et comprend plusieurs grandes îles dans l’océan Arctique.  

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le bleu marin, le bleu ciel et le blanc. 

Site web de l’équipe

Le Nunavik (Québec), aussi connu sous le nom de Québec arctique, a participé aux Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en 1972, 1974, 1976 et 1986. L’équipe est revenue pour les Jeux en 2000 et y participe depuis.   

Nunavik est la région du Québec située au-dessus de la 55e parallèle. Elle est souvent incluse dans les Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en raison des liens culturels rapprochés entre ses habitants inuits et ceux du Nunavut et du Groenland. 

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le vert lime et le noir. 

Site web de l’équipe

Avant 2002, le Nunavut a participé à tous les Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en tant que membres de l’équipe des T.N.-O.. Depuis ce temps, il est devenu un membre permanent. Il faut également noter qu’en 2002, le Nunavut a accueilli les Jeux pour la première fois à Iqaluit avec le Groenland, co-organisateur Nuuk. 

Le Nunavut est le plus récent territoire du Canada, créé à partir de la division des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 1999. Le Nunavut est une région caractérisée par de vastes étendues du Bouclier canadien et de la toundra, ainsi que par la majeure partie de l’archipel arctique du Canada.  

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le rouge, le jaune et le bleu. 

Page Facebook de l’équipe:

Sápmi is the cultural region traditionally inhabited by the Sami people. The region stretches over the northern parts of four countries: Norway, Sweden and Finland. The Sami speak as many as nine distinct dialects, with the most widely spoken language known as Northern Sami. 

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le rouge, le jaune, le bleu et le noir. 

La Russie a envoyé des délégués culturels aux Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique pour la première fois en 1990. Depuis ce temps, elle a envoyé de petites délégations d'athlètes et de performateurs culturels à chaque édition des Jeux. 

Yamal a fait sa première apparition aux Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en 2004, lorsque 37 membres de l’équipe ont participé à des compétitions de tennis de table, de sports d’hiver traditionnels, à des évènements sportifs inuits et à des activités culturelles. 

Les délégations Yamal-Nenets sont prévus d’accueillir les Jeux de 2026 pour la première fois. 

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le blanc, le bleu et le rouge. 

L’équipe du Yukon a participé à tous les Jeux depuis sa création en 1970, Whitehorse ayant accueilli les Jeux six fois. La ville devait accueillir une septième fois en 2020, mais l'événement a été annulé en raison de la pandémie globale, COVID-19.  

Le Yukon s’étend de la chaîne de montagnes St Elias, qui forme la frontière du Yukon avec l’Alaska et la Colombie-Britannique, jusqu’à l’océan Arctique et la mer de Beaufort. Dans cette zone se trouve le célèbre Klondike, où s’est déroulée la dernière grande ruée vers l’or en Amérique du Nord en 1898.  

Les couleurs de leur équipe sont le noir, le rouge et le blanc. 

Site web de l’équipe



Scroll to Top

Teams

The Wood Buffalo 2022 Arctic Winter Games includes athletes from the Northwest Territories, Yukon, Nunavut, Alaska, Greenland, Russia (Yamal), Nunavik (Northern Quebec), northern Alberta and the Indigenous people (Sami) of Norway, Sweden and Finland.

Established in 1968 as a non-profit, Arctic Winter Games Team Alaska (AWGTA) cultivates and celebrates sport, social exchange and culture. Team Alaska strengthens Alaska’s communities by providing young athletes with the opportunity to compete in friendly competition while sharing cultural values from northern regions around the world. 

Alaska will be hosting the 2024 Arctic Winter Games.  

The team colors are blue and gold. 

Link to team page: https://www.teamalaska.org/ 

 

Alberta North joined the Arctic Winter Games in 1986 and hosted for the first time in 1994 in Slave Lake.

The fourth-largest of Canada’s provinces, Alberta is the southernmost participant in the Games. Participation is limited to those regions located north of the 55th parallel.

The team colors of Alberta North are royal blue and white.

Greenland has been participating in the Arctic Winter Games since 1990. In 2002, Greenland hosted the Games for the first time in Nuuk, and they last hosted the Games in 2016. Greenland is the most northerly of the jurisdictions involved in the Arctic Winter Games. 

Considered part of North America, Greenland is the world’s largest island. Two-thirds of the island is located above the Arctic Circle and approximately 85 percent of its landmass is covered by ice.  

The team colors are red and white. 

The Northwest Territories (NT) was the first team to host the Arctic Winter Games in 1970 in Yellowknife and last hosted the Games in 2018. 

The Northwest Territories is the second largest of the three territories in Canada. The territory extends from the 60th parallel to the North Pole and includes several large islands in the Arctic Ocean.  

Team colors are navy, sky blue and white. 

Team website

Nunavik-Quebec, also known as Arctic Quebec, participated in the Arctic Winter Games in 1972, 1974, 1976, and 1986. The Team returned to the Games in 2000 and has participated ever since.   

Nunavik is the region of Quebec located above the 55th parallel. It is often included in the Arctic Winter Games because of the close cultural ties between its Inuit residents and those of Nunavut and Greenland. 

The team colors are lime green and black. 

Team website

Prior to 2002, Nunavut participated in every Arctic Winter Games as part of Team NWT. Since that time, it has become a permanent member. Also noteworthy for 2002 was the first time Nunavut hosted the Games in Iqaluit, along with co-host Nuuk, Greenland. 

Nunavut is Canada’s newest territory, created from the division of the Northwest Territories in 1999. Nunavut is an area characterized by vast tracts of Canadian Shield and tundra, as well as most of Canada’s Arctic Archipelago.  

The team colors are red, yellow and blue. 

Team Facebook page

Sápmi is the cultural region traditionally inhabited by the Sami people. The region stretches over the northern parts of four countries: Norway, Sweden and Finland. The Sami speak as many as nine distinct dialects, with the most widely spoken language known as Northern Sami. 

The team colors are red, yellow, blue and black. 

Russia sent cultural delegates to the Arctic Winter Games for the first time in 1990. Since that time, it has sent small contingents of athletes and cultural performers to every Games. 

Yamal made its first official appearance at the Arctic Winter Games in 2004, when 37 members of the team competed in table tennis, traditional winter sports, Inuit sport events and cultural activities. 

Yamal-Nenets contingent are scheduled to host the Games in 2026 for the first time. 

The team colors are white, blue and red. 

Team Yukon has participated in every Games since their inception in 1970 with Whitehorse hosting the Games six times. The city was scheduled to host for a seventh time in 2020, however the event was cancelled due the global pandemic, COVID-19.  

Stretching from the St. Elias Range, which forms the Yukon border with Alaska and British Columbia, the Yukon extends to the Arctic Ocean and the Beaufort Sea. Included within this area is the famous Klondike, home of the last great Northern American gold rush in 1898.  

The team colors are black, red and white. 

Team website



Scroll to Top